Jaragua National Park

Published in Sightseeing
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Jaragua National Park is a national park of the Dominican Republic. Jaragua National Park is located in Pedernales Province in the extreme southwest of the Dominican Republic.

Jaragua National Park has an area of 1374 km² (905 km² of which are marine), with coordinates from 17"28'N to 17'58'N and 71'16'W to 71"44'W, making it the largest protected area in the Caribbean region.

Jaragua National Park was established by Presidential Decree No. 1315 on August 11, 1983, and was named after a Taíno region. The park is represented by the Hispaniolan dry forests ecoregion. Spanning the southern slopes of the Baoruco Mountain Range from Oviedo to Cabo Rojo, Jaragua National Park includes dry forest, mangroves, and scrub, as well as land and marine habitats. Beata Island (Isla Beata), Alto Velo Island, Bahia de las Aguilas and Lago de Oviedo (noted for its diverse bird life) are part of the park.

Read 715 times Last modified on Tuesday, 24 January 2017 03:46
More in this category: « Cabarete Ozama »
Login to post comments



« May 2018 »
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      

Latest Places

  • Sacred Valley
    Sacred Valley The Sacred Valley is a region in Peru's Andean highlands. Along with the nearby town…
    Read 91 times
  • Paracas
    Paracas Paracas is a town on Peru's west coast. It's known for beaches, like El Chaco,…
    Read 85 times
  • Iquitos
    Iquitos Iquitos is a Peruvian port city and gateway to the jungle lodges and tribal villages…
    Read 81 times


Visitors Counter

Online Users 0
Guests 44


Subscribe to our newsletter to receive news, updates, free stuff and new releases by email...

Login / Register